You WILL See Other People’s Genitals: Things I Learned Taking Yoga

Share Your Pride

As part of my ongoing quest to improve my overall health, I am getting back into the habit of practicing yoga, an activity the younger me dismissed with a scoff and thought was reserved for men with ponytails and women with names like Cheyenne and Xanthipe.  When I finally visited a yoga studio for the first time back in 2011, I was pleasantly surprised that only one of the attendees had dreadlocks, and that the essential oil of choice was patchouli AND lavender.

9ea50164ad51bf4d246a5b6a075bdf80

Pictured: A woman with a totally normal name

Kidding aside, my initial foray into yoga was surprisingly invigorating and one of the most fulfilling challenges I’ve ever experienced, bumping high school football two-a-days into second place as the most physically taxing thing I’ve ever done (third is not crying at the end of Saving Private Ryan.)  The month-long inaugural jaunt into the world of down-dog and warrior’s pose was that of hot yoga, which (for a person who sweats like a whore in church on the equator next to a radiator in July,) was, at times, mentally taxing and always causing me to expand my physical limits and pain thresholds.

Cleanify

The point here is that, while many of the things I thought I’d see were seen, it doesn’t take away from the benefits I receive(d) from taking up yoga, and it’s been an excellent supplement to my health & fitness regime that I combine with weight training and conditioning.

ePromos

Don’t let the super-fit, cocky, bulgy bro with tribal tats and the lean, gorgeous vixen who cuts her eyes at you if you so much as look in her general vicinity deter you from starting a practice that’ll add inches to your height, help you sleep better, and improve your cardiovascular system IMMENSELY. At one point, even they were the awkward, grimacing-in-pain novice who were struggling to balance themselves on a mat,too.

slow-watches

Manner is a huge fan/complainer of yoga, but highly recommends Big Fish Power Yoga in Jacksonville.

logo

